Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

On the third day of Christmas Young Wifey shared with me her Crocheted Snowflake Ornaments, Wine Glass Charms and Glass Globe Ornaments

Crocheted snowflake ornaments are a staple for classic Christmas decor. They look great many different sizes and patterns. For a white Christmas, string them on the tree. Add them to a wreath for a whimsical touch. Hang then from the windows at varying heights, keep them up all winter for a snowscape.

I reminded of crocheted snowflake ornaments while browsing the internet. I can’t remember who exactly, but I remember seeing them on someone’s tree when I was younger. I tried to follow a few different patterns (I found online), without success. British crochet patterns have different terminology than U.S. crochet patterns and even knowing the conversions (if you will), I still seem to slip up every so often… I changed my yarn, thread and hook, still no success. Just like I can’t seem to follow recipes, I can’t seem to follow patterns. Sometimes creative genius feels more like undiagnosed ADHD. I tore apart each attempt and just made what my heart desired…

Crocheted Snowflake Ornaments

Crocheted Snowflake Ornaments

I used a 4 ply worsted white cotton yarn with my US G6 Hook. Then I used size 5 thread  in white/pearl (it has glitter flecks all through the thread) with a 1.65MM hook.

How To:
To Start: chain 6, sl st to join
Row 1: 1 sc, chain 5, repeat 5 more times, sl st to join
Row 2: 1 sc in first chain, chain 5, skip 1, 1 sc, chain 5, 1 sc in same stitch, chain 5, skip 1 stitch, 1 sc, skip 1 stitch and repeat 5 times, sl st to close
Block snowflakes and spray with fabric starch. Once dry to can attach a thin satin ribbon to a corner of the snowflake)

Approx. Cost:
1 skein of yard of thread = less than $4, 1 spool of ribbon = $1, for about than 5-at under 10¢ each this is an ornament you can’t pass up!

2009’s Christmas Countdown – On the twelfth day of Christmas Young Wifey shared with me, her chocolate Christmas fudgerecipe, chocolate bonbonscoconut clusterscranberry almond barkchocolate amaretto cherriespecan turtlesraspberry chocolate truffles,gingerbread fudgepeppermint barkdark chocolate peanut butter ballscracked glass candy, and her peanut butter fudgerecipe…