Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

On the second day of Christmas YoungWifey shared with me, her cracked glass candy recipe and her peanut butter fudge recipe.

Last year, a student gave me a package of cracked glass candy. It was so delicious, and I knew I had to give it a go this year. She shared her grandmother’s recipe with me.glasscandy

Ingredients: 3 3/4 c. sugar, 1 1/4 c. lt. Karo syrup, 1 c. water, food coloring, 1 tsp. oil flavoring, confectioner’s sugar

Directions: Combine sugar, syrup and water in saucepan and stir over medium heat until dissolved. Continue to cook, without stirring, until syrup reaches 290°F on a candy thermometer. Remove from heat and stir in food coloring and desired oil flavoring. Quickly pour half the candy onto 2 wax paper lined cookie sheets, cool and break into small pieces. Dust pieces with confectioner’s sugar so they don’t stick together.

The flavors she gave me were cinnamon, orange, anise, wintergreen and lemon. Use whichever flavoring you like the most. Today I made cinnamon, I’ll make more flavors in the future.

Don’t forget to check my blog tomorrow to see which tasty treat I’ll be sharing.