Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

There was a lot of interest after I posted the Flirty Fleece Ear Warmers. I received messages, emails and comments asking for a tutorial. Mind you I’ve still been sick, so it took a while. The doctor called me today, five days after I’ve been on antibiotics and said they needed to put me on something stronger…. no wonder I haven’t been improving. Now I hope I got this posted in time for you to make some before Christmas.earwarmer

Step 1 – Cut fleece into about a 22″ x 4″ rectangle, larger heads will require a longer length of fleece, kids head, a shorter length. Lay rectangle horizontally.

Step 1 - Cut Fleece

Step 1 – Cut Fleece

Step 2 – Pin bottom ends up and top ends down, so sides measure about 2″.

Step 2 - Pin Sides

Step 2 – Pin Sides

Step 3 – On top and bottom, fold just the edges down, tapering from middle toward ends. Stitch edges and trim excess, using matching or contrasting thread.

Step 3 - Taper & Stitch Top and Bottom Edges

Step 3 – Taper & Stitch Top and Bottom Edges

Step 4 – Stitch ends in and add velcro dots. Adding one to the wrong side of one end, and adding one to the right side of opposite end.

Step 4 - Stitch End & Add Velcro Dot

Step 4 – Stitch End & Add Velcro Dot

Step 5 – Using a cookie cutter to trace or freehand flowers on fleece and felt in multiple sizes and cut out shapes.

Step 5 - Cut & Trace Flowers

Step 5 – Cut & Trace Flowers

Step 6 – Layer flowers and add a button or bead in center on top. Stitch flowers carefully to headband. I like to position mine about three inches from the middle of the band.

Step 6 - Embellish with Flowers & Button

Step 6 – Embellish with Flowers & Button