Tags

, , ,

I have yet to find an apron I liked which also fit me. I usually have to pin-up the neck and wrap the waist ties around twice, or I get a smaller one that has a small neck hole and is a bit too short. And yes, I wanted it to match my kitchen!

Knowing I needed to make my own, I put it off as long as I could. I saw a nice shade of chocolate-brown fabric at the store and knew it was time to get sewing. I used half a yard of the chocolate fabric, folded it in half and I cut the apron to shape.

Step 1

Step 1

Hem the bottom of the fabric, the right side showing the edge.

Step 2

Step 2

Fold the bottom hem up, to create a pocket (You won’t lose your rings or phone if they’re still on you while cooking).

Step 3

Step 3

Stitch the sides of the apron, inserting a ribbon into the seam  and folding back over (I used green satin ribbon). I  sewed mine too close to the top, yours should be about 1 1/2″ from the top .

Step 4

Step 4

Sew the pocket into sections, starting at the stitch line down to the bottom.

Step 5

Step 5

Finish the edges around the arms.

Step 6

Step 6

Create a hem at the top, once again inserting the ribbon and folding back over to create a neck loop. I tried mine on to measure the length of the ribbon.

Step 7

Step 7

aprontutorial

I embellish the top of the apron by embroidering “Young Wifey”.

Young Wifey Apron

Young Wifey Apron