Tags

, , , , , ,

Yesterday, the winter weather warmed and the winds calmed, promising a beautiful Spring. The willow trees now display an ethereal hint of color. I wore my sandals to work and  admired the bright sunny day from my classroom window. Then it turned grey and the rain started to pour. It was still warmer when I got home, but it was very wet. To take off the damp chill, dinner needed to be soup. Since I raided my mother’s stash of miso last month, miso soup it is!

Miso & Dumpling Soup

Miso & Dumpling Soup

Ingredients: 4 c. water, 3 Tbsp. miso paste, 10-12 dumplings, 1 Tbsp. sesame oil, 2 scallions, 1 tsp. minced ginger, 1 tsp. mince garlic, 1/2 carrot (julienned), 12 stalks baby corn, sugar snap peas

Directions:
Warm oil and sauté ginger and garlic. Add dumplings and brown on the bottom. Add remaining ingredients and bring to a boil.  Cover and simmer over low heat. Serve hot!

Add or swap in these delicious veggies:
bok choy, cabbage, mung beans, mushrooms, snow peas, bamboo shoots, water chestnuts, edamame, zucchini

And today it snowed again…
What has your weather been like?

