Tags

, , ,

It’s no secret in my family that even though I’m extremely close to my momma, I’m also a Daddy’s Girl… Afterall, I am the baby out of four daughters. While my Dad’s main interests are motorcycles (Z1s to be exact), fishing and photography, he certainly has influenced my main interests too. My dad jokes about starting a blog, so I decided to give him a little taste of it (after all, my sister did interview my momma a few weeks ago). Since my paternal grandparents passed away before I was born, many of our conversations gravitate toward them, so it would make sense that our interview does too.

Daddy & Me, May 2009

Daddy & Me, May 2009

Dad & Me Oct '10

Dad & Me Oct '10

What are your top 5 foods?
For survival? Water. I don’t really like water, so in general? Number one salsa, then wine, good bread, nuts/seeds, and then soup.

What did you learn about food from your mother?
How to eat it. (chuckle) Well, I developed a lot of the tastes for the things I like to eat today. I regret not getting some written recipes from her. However, I watched how she made things and learned most of them.

What did you learn about food from your father?
Well, he liked to eat, no one ever went hungry when they visited our house. The more you ate, the more he liked you. It was always meat, meat and more meat. We never had anything, but we had food. Hams, steaks, roasts, chickens… Breakfast was typically a steak or porkchop, with eggs, baked beans, potatoes, you name it. We had huge breakfasts. Sunday breakfast was always salt mackerel and boiled potatoes.

What is your cooking specialty?
Soup is probably one of my specialties, I like making soups. Cucumber salad… cranberry relish… I make bread… I don’t know, I cook everything, but I don’t make pies.

You also make wine…
One time we made a batch and it blew up! But you’d have to ask your mother about the wine making.

Favorite food to grow in your garden?
Tomatoes are my number one, egg plants, peppers, peas and beets.  I did corn a couple of times, but needed more room. I’m getting into herbs now.

Other thoughts on gardening?
Make your own soil, good compost. You can use all your kitchen scraps (no meat), you’ll have the best garden ever.
My father had an amazing garden, it was featured in a newspaper in the Kennet Square area. He even channeled water from a stream to water his garden.

Feeling that my father was done with the interview, we went into the kitchen, ate lunch and then baked some delicious bread.

Fresh Baked Bread

Fresh Baked Bread

