Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

One of the small joys of my Christmas break was finding blue corn kernels. I love blue tortilla chips, but they’re difficult to find around here. Needless to say I was elated when I came across a bag of blue corn kernels. Blue pop corn!!! No, the popcorn isn’t blue, just the kernels.

Blue Corn Kernels

Blue Corn Kernels

Isn’t that beautiful? And they have a sweeter taste than yellow kernel popcorn. I haven’t unpacked our air popper yet… I need to get those remaining boxes unpacked!

I like the stove top popcorn method. Heat 3 Tbsp. of vegetable oil in pot over medium heat, add a few kernels. When they have popped, add 1/2 c. kernels and cover. Continually shake pot over heat source so kernels don’t burn. When kernels stop rattling and the popping starts to slow, turn off the heat and continue shaking pot until remaining kernels stop. Remove from burner and allow to rest two minutes before uncovering.

Hubster likes the microwave popcorn method. Grease the inside of brown paper bag. Add kernels and shake to coat them. Fold over top of bag and make a small slit to allow steam to vent. In our microwave this works well with our popcorn button. You however might have to listen as yours pops to know when to stop it.

Whichever method you chose, this is way healthier than store-bought microwave packs, Jiffy Pop and definitely movie theatre popcorn. Add your butter, salt, or whatever spices you desire while popcorn is still warm.

I like some grated parmesan cheese. What toppings do you like on your popcorn?

