Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Etched Glass Coffee Jar
After using it once for a Christmas ornament, I’ve always wanted to play around a little more with etching cream. The stuff is so expensive, I wouldn’t purchase it at the craft store without a 50% coupon. Recently, I actually got my hands on a 60% coupon and knew it was time to move.

I love using glass jars for kitchen storage, but I wanted to pretty up the coffee jar or two. Since I’m not a coffee drinker, that was the best place to start. Our realtor gave us some really great locally fresh ground coffee and Hubster and our guests have enjoyed our coffee maker…

Etched Glass Coffee Jar

Etched Glass Coffee Jar

Difficult to photograph, easy to create. I prepped the jar with glass cleaner then added a reusable stencil. Next I added a thick layer of etching cream and left it on longer than what the jar said. I actually got sidetracked and forgot all about it, it probably sat for 30 minutes opposed to the suggested 5 mins. I carefully rinsed the jar and stencils clean and then wiped the surface with glass cleaner.

Now with an etched jar, Hubster won’t mix up the coffee with my loose tea.

This would make a great gift for the coffee drinker…

What is your must have morning drink?

