Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

We called my great-grandmother Nanny Florida, because she lived in Florida. When she cooked and baked, she didn’t record her recipes online on a blog, she wrote them on index cards and tucked them away in a small metal box. I inherited this recipe box and I was looking through the pudding section…

Nanny Florida's Recipe Box

Nanny Florida's Recipe Box

She had three recipes for rice pudding, one to be served with cream, another to be served with wine sauce and a recipe for rice custard. I plan to try each of them eventually and them create my personal recipe. This one I’m calling Old-Fashioned Rice Pudding, since it had a classic flavor. Next time I might not let it bake as long.

Nanny Florida's Old-Fashioned Rice Pudding

Nanny Florida's Old-Fashioned Rice Pudding

Ingredients:
1 1/2 qt. milk, 3/4 c. sugar, 3/4 tsp. salt, 1 tsp. vanilla, 1/8 tsp. cinnamon, 1/4 tsp. nutmeg, 2/3 c. rice

Directions:
Butter a 3 qt. baking dish. Pour 1 qt. milk into baking dish, add sugar and salt and stir until dissolved. Wash rice and add to dish. Bake in at 325°F for 1 hour, stirring every 15 minutes with fork. Pour in remaining milk and bake 1 hr, every 20 minutes. Add remaining ingredients and blend. Bake 30 minutes more. Serve with cream and a small pinch of nutmeg.

What family recipes do you treasure?

