Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Last night I was feeling miserable… when I got home from work, I crawled into Hubster’s recliner, covered in three blankets and waited (asleep) for him to get home from his late night. On his way home, Hubster went to a local restaurant shortly before they closed and asked them to make chicken soup for me, and it’s not even on their menu (after all it’s an Italian joint). Well, I thought it was a really sweet thing for him to do… and he must’ve appealed to the romantic in them because they made me soup (a lot of soup). It was a lot better than him running out to get Campbell’s. The kindness of the restaurant combined with the sweetness of Hubster, made me feel better.

Today, still a little under the weather, I was feeling the need for soup. Tonight, I made one of my favorite seasonal soups… Roasted Butter Nut Squash & Pear Soup…

Roasted Butternut Squash & Pear Soup

Roasted Butternut Squash & Pear Soup

 

Ingredients:
1 medium butternut squash, 2 pears, 2 c. vegetable stock, 2 c. heavy cream, 1 Tbsp. light brown sugar, 1 shallot, 1/2 tsp. nutmeg, 2 tsp. fresh grated ginger, 1/4 tsp. cayenne pepper, turkey bacon (for vegetarian version substitute roasted butternut squash seeds), gorgonzola cheese

Directions:
Cut squash into cubes and bake in oven (you can also steam, but I prefer the roasted flavor). In stock pan, sauté minced shallot in butter. Core and cut pears. In food processor blend together all ingredients except cream, bacon & cheese. Return mixture to pot and bring to a boil. Reduce heat, add cream allow to simmer over low heat for about 5 minutes. Serve hot and garnish with gorgonzola and crumbled turkey bacon, or gorgonzola and roasted butternut squash seeds (vegetarian version).

Mmm…

What’s something sweet someone has done for you recently?

