Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I’m sitting here wishing for a 2 hour delay today, not a snow day, but just a few more hours.

Christmas isn’t over yet, yesterday was Three King’s Day. Some people have never heard of Three Kings Day, others think it’s a latin holiday only, but the truth is many countries celebrate The Epiphany in different ways. I didn’t have time to bake a King Cake on the Eve of Three King’s Day. However, I did move the Three Kings to the nativity.  I don’t believe this day is particularly known as a feast day, so we had a small dinner of various tapas.

Chicken Cheddar Empanadas

Chicken Cheddar Empanadas

I was trying to use up miscellaneous ingredients in the fridge and freezer. So instead of pie dough, I used leftover puff pastry (which I actually preferred for this dish). I used shredded chicken in lieu of the traditional ground meat.

Empanadas Ingredients:
pie dough or puff pastry, 1/2 lb. shredded chicken, extra virgin olive oil, 2 c. shredded cheddar cheese, 1/2 c. taco sauce (or tomato paste), 1 Tbsp. minced onion, 1/2 tsp. garlic powder, cayenne pepper, fresh ground sea salt, 2 Tbsp. softened butter

Empanadas Directions:
Defrost puff pastry. Roll out dough and preheat oven 400ºF  (about 350ºF for pie dough). Cut dough into desired size circles. Heat skillet and add oil, minced onions, garlic, cayenne pepper, salt and meat until heated. Remove from heat, add taco sauce and cheese, and stir until well combined. Spoon filling on one side of circle, fold over to create a pocket, and use a fork to seal edges. Rub empanadas with butter and place on a baking tray. Bake for 15-20  minutes, or until golden brown.

The beauty of empanadas is that you can make them as big or small (empanaditas) as you want, you can combine any combination of ingredients, and you can even make dessert empanadas! Maybe I’ll make some cinnamon, pear, cream cheese ones for dessert next time…

As I’m waiting for my wish to be granted, what are you wishing for today?

