Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Sometimes I just need to indulge myself and use ingredients that I enjoy. Coconut is one of those ingredients that I love, but do not use often enough. Some countries even refer to the coconut tree as the “Tree of Life”, so I guess I’m not the only one who’s nutty over the coconut.

Coconut Crusted Curry Chicken

Coconut Crusted Curry Chicken

Ingredients:
2 lbs. chicken tenderloins, 2 c. shredded coconut, 1/2 c. flour, 2 Tbs. curry  powder, 2 eggs, fresh ground sea salt, fresh crackled black pepper

Directions:
Preheat oven 375ºF. Mix together flour and curry and set aside. Beat eggs in shallow dish and set aside. Season chicken with salt and pepper. Coat chicken tenderloins with flour, shake off excess. Dip chicken into egg and then lightly press the coconut on chicken. Place on a greased baking sheet and bake for about 15-20 minutes until coconut is golden and chicken is done. Turn once, halfway during cooking.

The hint of curry, complemented the coconut perfectly, yum!  I’m still working on my dipping sauce, I haven’t yet perfected that one…

*Coconut flakes would work just as well as shredded coconut, I just used what I had on hand.

*For longer lasting fresh coconut, keep extra coconut in the freezer.

Now it’s your turn, tell me:
What is an ingredient you wish you’d use more often in your cooking & baking?

