Tags

, , ,

This is conjunction with Athena Pearl’s Post (which is in conjunction which someone else’s post) about where she was on September 11th, 2001.

Bloomsburg University, Lycoming Hall

Bloomsburg University, Lycoming Hall

I was in my dorm room at Bloomsburg University, Lycoming Hall. As I was getting ready for class, I received a phone call from a friend of my roommate. She was panicked, worrying if my roommate’s family was safe. I was confused and answered that I believed so, my roommate was in class like any other normal day. The caller than told me that a plane went down near where my roommate’s family lived, she neglected to tell me of all the other horrors our nation also experienced. I hung up and walked across the street to class, 100 feet across the street. The professor was locking the building, shouting to us, “Go home! Be with your loved ones!” And for the first time I saw the panic, the sorrow, the fear on people’s faces. Back at the dorm; it had become quiet, except for the many new stations tuned in, different stations, different voices, key words, same message. The remainder of the day was a vortex of fear, confusion and disbelief. Phone lines were busy, no one could get through to their families. We were fearless college students at the time, on top of the world, this day changed us. We feared about what happened, we feared what was to come. We  all knew that we would never forget this day, that this day would forever be the most terrifying day of our lives. This moment, changed who we were. We’ll never forget. Never forget.

On September 11th, 2001, 9 years ago, I was in my Lycoming Dorm and I’ll never forget.

