Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Mmmmm…

Hubster is trying to cut back on carbs, not eliminate them, just cut back. He loves pancakes, but I wanted to make them a little healthier and satisfy his appetite, while giving him less carbs. There are a few things I did to cut back on carbs, calories and portion size. 1) I made smaller pancakes, portion control. 2) I served them on salad plates, just to trick his brain a bit. 3) I added protein, mmm… pecans. 4) I added fiber, in the form of apple chunks. 5) I swapped out the traditional butter and syrup for drizzled caramel. It had 1/2 the calories of the syrup alone, it stretched further, and not to mention those calories saved from omitting the butter.

Apple, Caramel, Pecan Pancakes

Apple, Caramel, Pecan Pancakes

Recipe:
I whipped up a batch of pancakes, adding 1/2 c. ground pecans and a little melted caramel to the batter. I also swapped the in almond extract instead of the vanilla extract and cooked as usual. I topped the hot pancakes with fresh chopped Golden Delicious apples, hot roasted pecans and gooey drippy caramel.

The result? It tasted like a caramel covered apple. Hubster said this was one of his favorite things I’ve ever made by far… Happy Hubster in the morning = A good and productive day!

Mmmmm…

What is your favorite pancake topping?

