Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

I’ve had several request to post this recipe from my Valentine’s Day Feast.

I had been given a box of strawberry cake mix for which I had no use. Then the idea came to me, I could alternate the cake layers with different flavors.

I pulled out my mini square cupcake pans, whipped up the strawberry cake mix and my chocolate cake batter. I poured the strawberry batter into 12 of the cups and the chocolate batter into 12 different cups and baked them. Once the cakes were cooled, I used my cake leveler to cut the cakes into 4 layers. I then alternated the layers and spread the fresh almond whipped cream between each layer. I then drizzled chocolate ganache overtop of the mini cakes and garnished with a fresh strawberry slice.

Chocolate Covered Strawberry Cake

Chocolate Covered Strawberry Cake

Chocolate Cake Ingredients:
1 box devil’s food cake mix, 1 c. ricotta cheese, 1 c. water, 2 eggs, 1/2 c. vegetable oil, 1 Tbs. chocolate liquor

Chocolate Cake Directions:
Bake at 350°F until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.

Strawberry Cake Directions:
Mix together ingredients listed on the cake box, adding 1 c. smashed strawberries and bake according to package directions.

Almond Whipped Cream Ingredients:
2 c. heavy whipping cream, 2 tsp. almond extract

Almond Whipped Cream Directions:
In a chilled metal bowl, with chilled metal beaters, whisk together cream and extract until light and fluffy.

Hubster & I loved this dessert!!! Yum!

