Tags

, , , , , , , ,

There’s nothing more fulfilling than a bowl of hot soup on a dark cold snowy evening. Hubster enjoys Italian wedding soup from time to time. I however have never found a white meat version to taste, so I haven’t been able to compare it to anything. The following recipe I put together from three other recipes I’ve collected from people.

Meatball Ingredients:
1 lb. ground turkey or chicken, 2 eggs, 1/4 c. dried bread crumbs, 2 Tbsp. grated Parmesan cheese, 1/2 tsp oregano, 1/2 tsp basil, 3 Tbsp. minced onions

Soup Ingredients:
2 1/2 quarts chicken broth (this time I used vegetable stock), 2 c. spinach, 2 c. acini di pepe  (#78 pasta), 1 c. diced carrots, 2 eggs

Meatball Directions:
In a bowl combine meatball ingredients. Shape mixture into 1/2″ balls and set aside.

Soup Directions:
In a soup pot, bring the broth to a boil. Stir in spinach and carrots.  Beat two eggs together in a small dish. Slowly drizzle eggs into boiling soup, whisking as you go. Add meatballs and pasta to soup and boil 10 minutes, until meat is no longer pink and pasta is al dente.

Italian Wedding Soup

Italian Wedding Soup

*Serve hot with Parmesan cheese sprinkled on top.

I was nervous about the drizzling egg part, being something I’ve never tried to do before. I love egg drop soup and I figured if I could handle Italian wedding soup, I could try Chinese egg drop next.

