Tags

, , , , ,

Brandi, this one is for you…

I’ve been a Girl Scout since I was five years old (and watched my sisters as Scouts before that)! My favorite Girl Scout Cookie was the Carmel Delight (also called Samoas, depending on who the local baker was).

Depending on my off season cravings, I’d make my homemade cookies from time to time. I’d start with store purchase shortbread cookies (the ring shaped ones) and dip them into carmel. I’d push the toasted coconut onto the top of the melted carmel, then dip the bottom into chocolate, then place onto a wax paper sheet. I’d then use a spoon to drizzle chocolate on top. I placed then in the fridge until the chocolate was set. Then eat them all, before Hubster (even though he doesn’t like coconut) was able to have any. I found this blog where a girl even makes the cookies, yum! I also want to make a large cookie this way using my sister’s shortbread recipe, then I can cut cookie wedges. Yum!

I decided to make a Carmel Delight Cake. I started off by using this buttercake recipe. I baked it into two cake pans and used my cake leveler to cut each piece into two layers. I covered each layer of cake with caramel, chocolate and toasted coconut before placing the next layer. I frosted the overall cake with chocolate (using the caramel was too messy) and then drizzled it with caramel and toasted coconut. This is beautiful! I’ll have to remake it once my camera is fixed (and again when my sister on on this side of the pond)!

