Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Hubster and my close friends threw a luau last night, complete with a pig roast. They asked everyone to bring a dish to pass. Keeping with the theme, I decided to make a semi-hawaiian dish, teriyaki chicken.

Tasty Teriyaki
This version of teriyaki chicken is more of a side dish than a main dish (when I make a main dish I add garlic and ginger). I started by marinating small chicken strips in teriyaki sauce and pineapple juice over night. When ready to prepare, I grilled the chicken and put aside. I steamed white rice in my new rice steamer (which I’m still working on the exact measurements, unless my dad’s just works so much better). I mixed some teriyaki sauce, pineapple tidbits, pineapple juice, the chicken strips, shredded coconut (just a few pinches) and cashews into the rice. I kept it warm until ready to serve. Yum yum! When I have a working camera again, I’ll remake my dish and post photos.

One of the guest made this hawaiian dessert recipe.

Another guest made a yummy coleslaw that I need to try making sometime. She shredded carrots and purple cabbage, mixed in dried cranberries and sunflower seeds and coated it with a tangy vinegar mayo dressing.

Hubster wore the white and green Hawaiian print shirt I won during a limbo contest at the last luau we went to. I wore a cute green and tan floral dress from Old Navy. We each got  leis once we arrived at the party. It was fun and it reminded my of the luau theme birthday parties my mom and I used to have.

