Tags

, , , ,

New Dining Digs

Not only did Hubster and I have a challenge with our house appearance (inside and out), but our furniture was suffering from a horrible disease: Hodge-Podgeitis. We’re unable to buy new furniture or to break away from a few cherished antiques. Slowly but surely some of our furniture is starting to heal and cohesiveness is finally starting to flourish.

A week ago, I had four wrought-iron kitchen chairs with cherry wood seats and an oak table. Hubster had two white metal chairs with stained cloth seats and a table with a white metal frame and wooden top.

My kitchen table before the transformation

My kitchen table before the transformation

The first step on my mission was the chairs. I used wrought-iron textured-metal spray paint on the two chairs’ white metal frames. Then, I padded the four wooden chairs and covered all six chairs with light golden beige napkins I got on clearance at Bed, Bath & Beyond. Voilà! Chairs matched! Next, I removed the table top from the base and coated the base with the same textured-metal spray paint. I tried using a wood-stripper on the table top and got nowhere. Sanding the wood was the next step and the old clear-coat varnish came off easily. I choose a dark stain named Mahogany Bombay and applied two coats before adding the polyurethane. Now my kitchen set looks like it belongs together, and my kitchen is now a bit more cohesive.

Looks like new!

Looks like new!

Time to eat! Table with the two (originally white) chairs

Time to eat! Table with the two (originally white) chairs

XOXO,
Young Wifey

