Tags

, ,

Many people compliment a women’s ability to bake, cook, sew, garden, or craft, by calling her a Martha Stewart, Betty Crocker, or Bree (a la Desperate Housewives). However if the woman receiving the compliment isn’t a fan of one of these women, she can be insulted instead.

Real Life Famous Homemakers

Martha Stewart - Lied to officials and went to jail… Never really been a fan of this woman, she always seemed a bit snobbish to me. Although she did make a career out of things that most of us do anyway (without her advice).

Rachel Ray – Some say she isn’t as chipper as she seems on television, but who is bubbly 24/7?

Rachel still wins my votes on this round!

Fictitious Homemakers

June Cleaver – When the series began, Beaver was in second grade and my son is as well. My son also can’t seem to keep out of trouble, sort of like Beaver. Although I love her charm and simplicity, she may be a little too outdated.

Betty Crocker – This fictitious woman hasn’t aged since she was created, only her look was updated. Not too much personality is shown with this character.

Bree (Van de Kamp) Hodge РAlcoholic and adulterer? Come on, not ideal! Of course, despite her flaws and quirks, everyone still love this peppery domestic diva.

Bree, I think your sass won this round for you.

Please think before complimenting your skillful homemaker. I smile and know that people have the best intentions if they call Martha… I just insert a name I’d rather hear.

Although, when I ruin a recipe or craft, I think to myself, “Oh no! I did a Susan.”

